THIRTY 30 THIRTY

 

SAM_1896Thrifted Dear Creatures dress (Buffalo Exchange), Talula tights, Miz Mooz flats

SAM_1895

SAM_1883

YASSSSS. It’s all coming along. I’m hoping I just have another 7 or 8 weeks, and then we can finally meet these babies! We’ve chosen names already, so it’s been a welcome change to Baby A and Baby B. I’ve disclosed the names to some family members and friends and the concern trolling has been relatively mild. One of my sisters told me, “Oh, don’t do that!” and I responded with, “Sorry, this is happening.” Another family member jokingly threw out some over the top absurd names on FB for the twins. I found it amusing the first time around, not so much the second. I get it: people know not to expect traditional names from us; when Madrox was born I was treated to “THINK OF THE CHILDREN!”, etc. It’s amazing how many people own crystal balls: “He’s gonna get teased and it’s all your fault!” What I wish I could have predicted was how difficult it would be for people to simply pronounce his name. Mad Rocks? Really? I got a call from the dentist’s office the other day confirming his appointment and the receptionist called him Matrix, I’m pretty sure. That’s just sad. When I suggested his nickname to one of the kindergarten teachers at his school (because seriously, stop butchering my kid’s name, I’m giving you an out here), who after multiple tries still couldn’t wrap his head around the complicated pronunciation, the ADULT said, “Well, I don’t want to call him Mad, because then I’ll get mad and he’ll get mad…” Andy: “Yeah, he doesn’t like that.” For shame. What are you doing, teacher of children? I’ve yet to have a kid tease Mad about his name. Adults, on the other hand? Ya know, people who should know better? Yep! Reading this post made me nod my head until it almost fell off. My whole thing is: there are plenty of names that I think suck (a lot of “normal” names top that list btw), I just don’t go around acting like my opinion actually MEANS something. I talk shit behind closed doors, like you should do.

River and I have birthdays coming up next week! Sadly my morning/all day sickness is on an upswing lately and I haven’t been feeling up to much. Andy has been pushing me to schedule a prenatal massage and so that’ll be a nice birthday present. I can’t wait.

30wksAt the children’s museum today, trying to find a scrap of shade. Soooo hoooooot. My feet and fingers are swelling as we speak. I never thought I’d pray for rain in Portland but if there’s a god…hear my prayer.

toods

5 Comments

Filed under Preggers in PDX, Preggerville, Stylefile, Thrift/Vintage

5 responses to “THIRTY 30 THIRTY

  1. Kerrie

    Bless you Jen, you look Fab! Capital F. Didn’t I say Mad Rocks way back in 2008? I’m come such a long way! Anyway, I agree with you about names but love their names anyway, and not just because they’re theirs.

    Had a bit of a there their they’re moment typing this…

    • Jen

      Thanks friend! You’re too kind! 🙂
      I can’t remember if you did or not, but If so, am happy that you no longer do. :p It’s like…I can’t imagine anyone ever saying Mad Rid, you know? It’s clearly Madrid. I wonder what it is about Madrox that makes the brain freeze…

  2. Mad does rock. He does.

    The DRESS. Holy crap, take me shopping!

Leave a Reply

