Double the fun

 

SAM_1578

SAM_157717 weeks preggo: Fossil (Ebay) top,  Levi’s jeans, Miz Mooz flats

SAM_1584

SAM_158218 weeks preggo: Thrifted top, UO jeans, Tretorn rain boots

It’s been a long time. Shouldn’t have left you. Without a dope post to…read… to. >.>

Funny story: Andy and I had been going back and forth about having another kid. On days where the boys were particularly hard to handle I was like “Nope!” but then when I noticed that Rio’s baby fat was disappearing I was like “MOAR PLZ!” Andy mostly wanted to try for a girl. We both knew that there was a .5% chance of that happening, but we forged ahead with that good old Shettles method. TMI? Eh, we’re all adults here. ANYWAY. Six months later I was 3 days late and took a pregnancy test. The faintest of lines appeared. Andy pumped his fist, I got ready for the nausea to hit. AND BOY DID IT. “This…isn’t normal.” I told Andy. My stomach hurt like the DICKENS. My mind was foggy. There was this funny taste in my mouth. For three weeks I only got up to use the restroom and to (barely) eat. I felt like I was dying. Food was disgusting. And it wasn’t just food, everything I looked at or thought about took on this sinister tone. I started thinking about preparing a will (which I really should do anyway). Then I started bleeding. It was the cherry on the shit sundae that was my life.

I went in for an ultrasound to see if I was miscarrying. There on the screen, clear as day, were two embryos.  Aaaand I friggin’ burst into tears. When I told Andy (he was parking the car and ushering the boys into the office at the time of the u/s) he was shocked stupid. “Uh, what? Huh? HOW? Oh my god!”

How, indeed. My mom had twin brothers (fraternal) and apparently her father had twin siblings as well. Andy and I had joked about one day having twins and then we got tired just thinking about it. Whatever, bring it. Cuz twins are magical! I totally dropped two eggs and Andy totally fertilized them both! We’re magical creatures people!

Anyway, it all balanced out to the usual bearable nausea that I dealt with with my other pregnancies, and my bleeding (Caused by a subchorionic hemorrhage) stopped relatively soon afterwards. *sigh of relief*

I will never not find it funny that we went into this trying for one girl and will come out of it with two more boys. TWO! MORE! BOYS!

And I can’t wait to meet them.

toods

9 Comments

Filed under Family, Life, Preggers in PDX, Preggerville, Shit just got real, Stylefile, Thrift/Vintage

9 responses to “Double the fun

  1. How exciting! I like how you had us until the last line wondering about gender. I mentioned this to my husband and he said you guys have a basketball team 🙂 I’m 26 weeks along with a boy! Are you on Instagram? I haven’t been blogging but I insta pretty often.

  2. geetabix

    Congratulations! I’ve been lurking your blog for years because I love your outfits – but I have to comment on such exciting news 🙂

  3. Uhmmm. I could have told you the danger of having that “do you want more?” convo with two at home, lol

    This same thing happened to me. Same convo, same SURPRISE you’re pregnant already, same holy GOD what could be so different about this pregnancy?? (I had already had a girl and a boy, could it be an alien?!?!) reaction and wouldn’t you know, twins ;o) My mom is a twin, so it wasn’t a total shock, but I nearly passed out when the ultrasound tech touched the wand to my belly and BAM two babies were clearly visible.

    It’s still one of the most magical things that’s ever happened to me ;o)

    • Jen

      Ha! Yessss, you get me! I was totally starting to think that I could have something other than a human inside of me, like maybe an ACTUAL parasite. I told Andy, “Maybe I’m just dying and I’m not actually pregnant. This is what dying feels like, probably.”
      So far we’re still so caught up in the magical aspect of it that we’re not actually thinking about all of the WORK. But it’s still pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

