Moody Mumford

Bruce Springsteen has ruined me for other bands.

His show was just that: A SHOW. He and the E Street band played for 3 hours. He took requests, he pulled people onstage, he crowd-surfed, he made me FEEL THINGS. Seriously, who’s the Boss? THAT dude.

SAM_0461

Andy and I went to a Mumford and Sons show Monday night. And, well…meh. First of all, Marcus seemed to be in a bit of a mood. And well…knock it off, son. This is your job. Entertain me. Make me feel like I’m the only person in the room. I can see you have some chops there, and ya’ll sound hella good in concert. I was clapping and swaying to the music and feeling your strings section. But I was expecting a bit more warmth. And conversation! Not two openers and barely an hour and a half of the headlining band! We got a babysitter! ENTERTAIN ME!

Hey, look at my overpriced T-shirt!

SAM_0464

SAM_0465

SAM_0468Shows can make or break a band for me. I fell out of love with Pete Yorn many moons ago after hearing him sing through his teeth. I became aware of Frank Black’s genius after accompanying Andy to a show. Same goes for Tiger Army (could seriously see those guys over and over).

You dropped the ball M&S!! Be more like Springsteen! And seriously, as I was thinking that very thought during the show, they broke into “I’m on Fire.” That’s not what I meant boys, but nice try. I kept telling Andy how disappointed I was that they weren’t more like Bruce and all he could do was grin like a fool, because he’s the Springsteen guy, and say: “I’m so glad you enjoyed the show.” Well, yeah…but WHAT ABOUT MUMFORD?

Thank God for Ben Lovett, ya’ll. He tried to connect. And his shoes kept a lot of my attention, I wish I’d gotten a better look at them. Because they looked amazing.

SAM_0456

toodsP.S. I’ll probably buy the next album but I’ll definitely be sitting the next show out. And probably the next. Mums the Ford, INDEED.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Opinion, Stylefile

Leave a Reply

