Seek thee out the diamond in the rough

So. I recently saw on Facebook that my favorite shop Little Edie’s Five and Dime was closing in a month. “Of course!” I wailed to Andy. See, I had just been telling him THE DAY BEFORE that every time I find a diamond in the rough, a perfect shop, it’s snatched away from me ruthlessly by THIS GUY:

Dude. Relax.

Nah, not Jafar. Maybe the sands of time?

Whatever/Whoever it is, stop it!

Anyway, January was to be their last month open and I told Andy, “So I basically have to go there every day and buy all of the things. I HAVE to.” He nodded, understanding my plight.

I dropped by yesterday preparing to find goodness as usual. I asked the woman who was wheeling out the dollar bin, “You’re open, right?” Because I was not leaving WITHOUT MY MAGIC LAMP. She smiled sweetly and said yes and I chuckled maniacally and said, “Fantastic.”

I got to work. Looked at some scarves. Checked out some oxfords, looked at the coats, some suspenders. Went to the dress rack, held my breath and found it.

WHAT.

IMG_2674

IMG_2668

IMG_2678

This is what I’m saying.

As I was checking out, I told the woman at the register/iphone that I was so sad that they were closing, etc. She was, by the way, wearing one of the cutest dresses I’d ever seen: full skirted and multicolored with a lace overlay and DIVINE. She told me it was from Topshop via Nordstrom which I will have to check out. ANYWAY. The woman who had wheeled out the dollar bin was also there, and she perked up when I described my sadness and said, “Oh! Meet the new owner! Little Edie’s is staying open!” and I just kind of. um. SQUEALED. It turns out she was Penelope, the former owner, and she was so tickled pink by my enthusiasm for the shop that she pulled me into a hug and kissed my cheek and when I told her, “I’m sorry, I just love this place.” she said, “This place loves YOU.”

HOORAY! Little Edie’s lives to see another day!

And how about this dress?! I can’t get over it. It didn’t have a tag, but I did find a Fruit of the Loom copyright on the fabric. Andy said, “Cool, your dress is made out of underwear!”

Amazeballs. I’m off to go stare at it some more.

toods

4 Comments

Filed under Portland, Pretty things, Stylefile

4 responses to “Seek thee out the diamond in the rough

  1. It’s great that the lady got to see just how much you enjoy the store. Happy New Years!

  2. Nice find. Underwear is so comfortable that a dress made of underwear sounds pretty sweet.

Leave a Reply

