3

What I’ve been wearing lately:

Tulle jacket, FM shirt, Fossil skirt, Me Too flats and a pair of dead eyes

Target cardigan, Anthro shirt and dress, HUE tights, Sock Dreams socks, Frye boots, French doctor bag (Etsy) and a bandaid

Anthro tank (Buffalo Exchange), UO jeans, Fossil pumps

Close up of the shoooooooes.

Besides dressing myself I’ve also been doing a lot of reading and catching up on my favorite shows (New Girl, Parks and Rec, Up All Night). I’ve been watching Scandal and enjoying it because I ignore the dialogue and focus on this:

That’ll do, pig. That’ll do.

Tony Goldwyn is my JAM (Which …stands for Jen’s Actor Man). *shifty eyes* Yep. Back in the day my family would watch Dirty Dancing on repeat because my mom had an obsession with Patrick Swayze. Naturally we also watched Ghost too many times to count. I remember watching and thinking Um, Patrick WHO? I remember thinking that if I was Molly? I’d forgive Carl in a second. So what if he was indirectly responsible for Sam’s death? Cut the guy some slack. We ALL make mistakes.

Carl: It was a goof.

Molly: Shhhh. You had me at “it”.

Remember his psychiatrist character from Dexter who likes to let his “wolf” out for a big meal every now and again?! Chilling. And this is the part when I say “when he’s bad he’s EVEN BETTER!” but I’d be lying. I like when he plays nice. It makes me feel less guilty about taking his side.

Anyway. Scandal. I wrote a post four years ago about how Shonda’s signature style really grates on my nerves and I swear, it still rings true today. The repetition is NO JOKE.

Somebody must’ve pissed her off by saying “But above all things, show, don’t tell” And she was like, “I’ll show them. I mean I’ll TELL them. I’ll tell them a thing or two.” AND SHE NEVER STOPPED WITH THE WORDS.

“You’re/I’m the leader of the free world!”

“She’s/I’m Olivia Pope!”

“I’m/You’re a gladiator in a suit!”

At no time does anyone ever ask the president if he’s the leader of the free world because they already know the answer! And yet…AND YET. People keep repeating it until finally you shout at the television screen: I GET IT! Dude’s got power.

That’s a powerful dude.

At no point does anyone ever have to ask Olivia Pope, “And you are…?” Because, duh. Did you not hear the man on that roof over there shouting it to the heavens? She’s Olivia Pope, moron. Let us remind you another million times. She also wears a white hat, whatever the hell that means.

Olivia Pope, wearing a white hat.

And at no point does Russell Crowe show up in a suit*.

Russell Crowe, in a suit.

But. She had me at “black female lead” so I will watch all of the things (To be fair, she also had me at Kerry Washington, Tony Goldwyn, Columbus Short, and Guillermo Diaz).

Toods,

Jen

*Get it? Because he played a gladiator in a movie? It was a movie called Gladiator.

2 Comments

Filed under Rant, Stylefile, TV

2 responses to “3

  1. You had me at “badly photoshopped picture of a white hat”. #DED
    And you know how I feel about Carl and the whole “let your ex go, he’s dead, why can’t you love the hotter guy in front of you?!”
    Lastly, GIVE ME THE FLATS. Please. Thank you.

    • Jen

      Will someone PLEASE TELL ME WHAT THAT MEANS THOUGH? If it just means that she’s a good guy then BOOOOOO.
      I mean he spilled wine down his own shirt so that he could take it off! That’s a winner.

Leave a Reply

