Mad about Plaid

WWGLFD tee (PAX), Pendleton pants (wanderlust), otbt booties

I played dress up today with a couple of plaid pieces that I recently bought and can’t quite wear out yet.

Andy was a champ and bought this shirt for me when he went to PAX back in August. He knows what’s up. Levar Burton was big in my house, I grew up watching Reading Rainbow and Star Trek TNG pretty religiously. And who could forget his role as Kunta Kinte in Roots? So of course I died when I saw this on Community:

MORE FISH FOR KUNTA?! Amazeballs.

Every time I wear this shirt my kids cry out: “GEORDI LAFORGE!” I feel such pride when that happens. As for the pants, I found them at a bin sale for Wanderlust and Lodekka, they need to be shortened a bit and they’ll fit better once I *cough* lose ten pounds; I feel like a true Portlander in them.

Aaand here’s the dress I was telling you about earlier:

Thrifted Laura Ashley dress (Little Edie’s), HUE tights, Chie Mihara mary janes (ebay)

The collar’s a little too pilgrim-y and the sleeves a little too puffy, (although not, as Anne Shirley would say, “The puffiest!”) so I think I might have some alterations done. But for the most part: I LOVE THIS DRESS. Andy saw me in it and said, “Yeah that totally looks like you.”

My second born is turning 3 on Monday!

We had a playdate with cupcakes today (playcake?) and he got so embarrassed when we sang Happy Birthday to him. He’s so adorable. And so smart and clever and sweet. He makes me laugh with his questions and observations. He makes me swoon when he sings with me. He makes my heart go boom.

Happy Birthday Mad!

5 Comments

Filed under Mad Miles, Stylefile

5 responses to “Mad about Plaid

  1. DO NOT CHANGE ANYTHING ABOUT THAT DRESS I HAVE NEVER SEEN AN ARTICLE OF CLOTHING THAT WAS MORE JEN-THE-TWIN. ::ahem:: Don’t. (And uhthegov courthegorse about the rest of the things. And MadMadMad my lovelovelove!)

  2. OMG! that dress is BRILLIANT! and it looks fabulous on you. the whole out is fantastic, really. love the pants too, but not like the dress. oh my goodness that dress!

Leave a Reply

