Purple Velvet

Bowler Hat: Goorin. Blazer: Gap. Shirt and Vest: J.Crew. Pants: Express. Shoes: Doc Martens. Scarf: Therapy.

Okay, it is getting really freaking cold out! I need to dig out my gloves, but I have no idea where they’re hiding! And people continue to calmly walk about in their flip flops while my feet freeze in my boots and Docs. I’ll never understand that, but then my feet are always cold. As soon as I get home I slip into these puppies, er… monkeys. Except with pom poms. They feel DELIGHTFUL. After the boys go down, I wear these and my robe and watch my favorite North and South clips over and over again.

Sweet Lord. I’m such a sucker for total-asshole-accidentally-falling-in-love-with-haughty-opinionated-girl tales I CAN’T EVEN TELL YOU. Hello, Pride and Prejudice? Anne of Green Gables (ETA: Gilbert did not break a slate over Anne’s head. I am a dork. But he did tuggeth a ponytail, which makes him an asshole. And he called her carrots. Yeeeeah…go with it…)? Except it gets to the point where I want to shove the girl and say, “If you don’t say ‘take me!’ pretty soon I will seriously punch you in your baby maker. WHY ARE YOU MAKING HIM WORK SO HARD?!”

He’s all, SRSLY?! You know you want me.

Margaret needs a sassy gay friend to tell her, “look at your life, look at your choices!”

 

12 Comments

Filed under Happy Feet, Headgear, Stylefile

12 responses to “Purple Velvet

  1. A) This outfit reminds me of A Clockwork Orange…?
    B) There’s a North and South viewing party on Saturday ’roundabout brunch. Yes, I’m invited.
    C) Didn’t Gilbert tug her ponytail causing Anne to break a slate over *his* head?
    D) I have not gone to bed yet. Flipper marmalade ambrosia.

  2. you crack me up! also, you are freaking adorable. I just found your blog from the 30/30 blog roll.

    and nothing cures a migraine day like the last scene from North and South. Heavenly…

    ~trina

    • Jen

      Why, thank you! 🙂 And yes, that last scene…OMGizzle, so good! I watched a Richard Armitage interview where he said that the last scene even makes HIM “tingle”. INDEED.

  3. Kate

    Stumbled on your blog from the 30×30 remixers list. I was looking through your entries, thinking “This is one cool lady!” And then you bust out the “North & South.” Needless to say, you’ve got a fan for life.

Leave a Reply

