Maryanne Shipoppins

Hat: Porch Light

Coat: Nordstrom (Tulle)

Shirt: Trovata (Gilt)

Skirt: Lived-in Lover (which is sadly no more)

Shoes: Nicole

The first time I wore this skirt a woman curled her lip at me and said, “I wore a skirt like that in Catholic school. Why in the world are you wearing my Catholic school skirt?!” NICE LADY! I was bummed for a second but then I noticed that she was wearing tevas and I realized we spoke completely different languages.

Anyway, this outfit is so Mary Poppins +

Anne Shirley, AM I RIGHT?

Very nanny. Very school teacher. My first year in college, at the ripe old age of sixteen (going on seventeen *spins round in a gazebo*) I was told that I looked like a school teacher. Just what a young girl wants to hear. Then, when I decided to major in English everyone said, “I KNEW IT!” Except I didn’t want to teach, nuh uh NO WAY. It just made way more sense than anything else.

Check out Anne Shirley. Besides her oversized puff sleeves, her outfit is made of win. *grabs clock brooch* And Gilbert…OH, GIL.

Anne, I am so mad at you right now. Stop. RESISTING.

I am not ashamed of loving this series SO MUCH (okay the third one sucked, but I still own it). I wrote Jonathan Crombie’s name with hearts next to it in my grade school (okay, and high school) journal. I still have dreams of visiting Prince Edward Island just so I can walk on sand dunes and say things like, “But you hurt my feelings EXCRUTIATINGLY.” to the ocean waves.

Apparently there’s a musical too? Be still my beating heart.

10 Comments

Filed under Stylefile

10 responses to “Maryanne Shipoppins

  1. You are now OFFICIALLY on my blog roll!!!!

  2. P.S. LOVE the inspiration behind this outfit. You really are the most adorable Clemons sister!

  3. You should’ve told her you were wearing *your* Catholic school skirt. With sufficiently raised brow, of course, because why the devil are you concerned?! People. SMH.

  4. I love the asymmetrical buttons on that blouse, and anything inspired by Anne Shirley is good in my book.

  5. auntizzle

    i LOVE it

    the C/O/A/T

Leave a Reply

