March Madness

Mad turned one earlier this month. I can’t get over how fast this last year has gone. Where did my baby go?! He’s been replaced by a walking, talking boy with FOUR teeth. He can say Mama, Daddy, more, banana and no (but of course). The first time I saw him sign “more” I almost fell over. It’s so strange how excited I am to experience all of these firsts again. I suspect it will be the same with the next child (and the next, and the next…just kidding!). Everything they do is the best, I’m so in love with my children! Even when they throw their food on the ground and pull my hair straight out of my head…

Anyway, I took his birthday off and we went to the zoo with our friends Jennie and her daughter Lena. I brought some organic chocolate cupcakes that I made, but alas, they came out completely dry and gross. But the day was perfect – sunny with a breeze. Not too hot, not too cold. We saw a drugged rhino and something that looked like a baboon but wasn’t.  Such a scary, scary bright red ass.

“Check it out guys!” Andy said. “It’s a baboon!”

“It’s a mandrill,” a ten year old girl corrected him. Andy refused to believe her, even though the sign clearly said Mandrill. He grumbled, “I’m pretty sure it’s a baboon!”

But there were lions and tigers and bears (actually the polar bear was MIA)…all fun times. We bought a snow leopard (Leopard Nimoy) and an elephant (Elephant Gerald) for the boys at the gift shop.

Oh, my Mad Miles. I love you to the moon and back.

2 Comments

Filed under KIDS., Mad Miles

2 responses to “March Madness

  1. Eh, they are closely related. 😛

Leave a Reply

