Good Hair

I want to see this film.

When I was a kid, my sisters and I were always told that we had “good hair” because it was long and supposedly more manageable than most. I didn’t really know how to take that, should I be happy? Relieved? And why does this woman have her hand in my hair? She won’t stop…stroking it. As I got older, I saw confrontations between black women that seemed to revolve around hair, that culminated in threats to cut off someone’s ponytail if they got too uppity. It’s insane how a head of hair can enrage or intimidate someone. But we all have hair envy. Curly girls want their hair straight, those with straight want it curly…the grass is always greener on the other side.

I was actually intimidated by my hair up until my college years. When I was younger my mother would always blow it out and braid it or curl it. I never knew how to deal with my natural hair, and felt more comfortable with it straight. Now, I go back and forth. Straight is still my preference, but mostly because it takes less work and less product. When my hair is curly, and all curly girls know this,  I’m always on the search for that holy grail curl product. So much so that I have a box full of bottles that promise to give my hair the perfect bounce and moisture that it needs. I hardly ever go to the salon to get it straightened, partly because I live in Portland and partly because I can do  my own hair pretty damn well. I also hate being pressured by strangers to do things I don’t want to do with my hair. I will never have a perm again in my life, shut up about it! How many inches do you intend to cut off of my hair? Is that really necessary? The worst thing is seeing young black girls with that “creamy crack” plastered on their heads. You’re telling them at such a young age that their hair is something that is too wild and crazy for the simple measures, better get used to sitting in this uncomfortable chair every 6-8 weeks! That’s the price of beauty my sweet. Now stop writhing around, you know it doesn’t hurt that much!I don’t really have an issue with perms(although they’re not for me), but I do have an issue with young girls getting them. I think that the last thing a young girl should be worrying about is how “kinky” or “nappy” her hair is.

Good, bad, it’s all bullshit. Hair is hair. I think you should have fun with it, experiment with it! Straight does not necessarily equal beautiful/professional, nor nappy ugly/ghetto, etc etc. Which reminds me: FAIL (Here’s the response from Glamour). I will say though, every time I have worn my hair naturally to work, be in twists or curls, it seems to be an invitation for someone to touch my hair. Which is kind of annoying. But  telling someone that their natural hair is “unacceptable” in an office setting ??? Jesus. Lawsuit, anyone?

Oh, hair. It’s hard not to get tangled up in it.

8 Comments

Filed under black women, Hair, Movies

8 responses to “Good Hair

  1. I was bummed I couldn’t find a trailer or *gasp* a website. I guess they were really serious about the “low budget” thing.

    It sounds really interesting though, and I’d watch it. Hopefully it gets some kind of limited theatrical release – I think a decent amount of people would go see it. At least, if not more.

    I wonder..with the Glamour thing…if it’s all bs and they really did authorize it then turned around and said they didn’t. Either way, that chick sounds like a bitch. Anyone that’s cool with telling people of one race they should look like people of another is all kinds of damaged.

  2. Jen

    Yeah, I wonder why no website? V. interesting.
    Who knows with the whole Glamour thing, they might be covering their asses…maybe they didn’t expect such an uproar? Maybe they didn’t realize that black women actually read their magazine (since it’s not really targeted at them)? I think there are a lot of people in professional workplaces that actually think the same exact thing though. Scary.

  3. Okay, to be honest though, this blog reads like a privileged kid trying to convince everyone who can’t afford it how cool a year abroad is. Hhahaha. Coming from a family of girls who can “have fun” with their hair, I must wonder how people like Ana’s dear friend, Keyonna would take that suggestion. And as a child who had the thickest hair in our family, I can tell you perm or not I would still have to sit in a stationary seating position for over an hour to have my hair made presentable. I tend to think it was much easier and faster having it permed first. Wanting your hair to be manageable and familiar looking is no more damaged than girls whittling their waistlines to match something they’ve seen in their culture, except that this one is more married to ethnicity and has been used to make one feel like an outsider (despite the fact that white women have THANKFULLY realized recently that if they don’t get their hair done, it looks like crap). Assimilation is natural. Thinking you’re ugly because you’re not white isn’t and the two don’t have to be mutually exclusive.
    If I (have a girl) need to relax my daughter’s hair, I’ll be more concerned with her thinking her hair has anything to do with her personality. Or thinking her sex life is “her business”.
    PS Haven’t watched the videos yet.

  4. Jen

    So would your response be from someone who can’t afford to travel? I’m confused.
    Let’s just agree to disagree. I don’t think people ever “need” to have their hair relaxed. I just don’t. And definitely not a child. If I’m a privileged kid for saying so, well …meh? People can do whatever they want to their hair, that was kind of my point. But all of this “needs to” business perpetuates the same old beauty/race issues that we need to get rid of. We need to teach kids to love what they have.

  5. I’ll.
    Be.
    Yo.
    PRIIIIIIIIII-VATE DANCAH! DANCIN’ FOR MONEY, DO WHATCHU WANT ME TA DO!

  6. Jen

    *sways to the music*

  7. thisblog4u2013

    hi, Ms. jen

  8. thisblog4u2013

    hi, jen please tell me about yourself….

Leave a Reply

