California…here we come

Baby, you complete me. But…you make a lot of assumptions. And when you assume things you make an ass out of you and me. Don’t make an ass out of me.

We’re heading off to California on Thursday for a long weekend. I’m excited, but scared that I won’t be able to enjoy myself because I haven’t been feeling that well lately. I have to soak it all up though, because when I get back I’ll have two conferences to go to for work back to back. Ugh. There’s a lot of changes going on in the office, and I’ve been given a promotion of sorts, but I don’t feel excited about it…just kind of wary. And tired. Plus, we’re moving Zain to a new (cheaper) childcare center, so that’s equally stressful. I hate change. Or maybe I should say I hate several changes all at the same time.

In-N-Out is just what I need to soothe my anxiety/fears. Mmmm. How does UTAH get an In-N-Out but not Oregon? Cuckoo. And maybe Andy and I’ll catch a flick for once…Hellboy 2 just came out. We never do the whole babysitting thing so hopefully Z won’t freak out. He hasn’t seen my in-laws in eons.

On the Z front: every single time I look at him, I’m amazed at how much he’s growing. Then I marvel at how beautiful he is. Such a shallow thing really, but can you blame me? I’m so thankful to have him in my life, no matter the stress or worry or pain that comes with being a parent. Moving him to an in-home daycare is nothing short of traumatic. All I can think of is some unsupervised wench hitting my kid on the head repeatedly with a wooden spoon. Why that specifically? Just something I saw on the news once… which is why I don’t watch the news, I’m pretty good at imagining the worst that can happen on my own, thanks. Anyway, Andy and I have made sure to dot all of our i’s and cross our t’s when making sure that the teacher is competent and that the center is a good environment for Z. It’s still pretty hard though.

6 Comments

Filed under Life, Z the Mighty

6 responses to “California…here we come

  1. I’m amazed at Z every time I look at him…he’s getting better and better at various things (although I wish he’d start talking soon!) and it’s weird to me that he is not an actual “baby” anymore.

    The hand-waving-knocking-all-the-food-on-floor-when-done is getting REALLY old though.

    It’s a shame we’ll be in such a hurry this weekend, but at least we’ll get to spend a day in SB and (hopefully) relax….

    The real question is…will I be able to eat burgers for both lunch AND dinner Thursday? (Javan’s & Hamburger Habit!)

  2. Jen

    AH…will you be able to eat your WEIGHT in beef is the real question. I’ll hold your hair if you end up praying to the porcelain gods, don’t you worry.
    Seriously though…maybe we should have Javan’s one day and Habit another (there’s got to be one in SLO right?).

  3. Stevens

    I am shocked and appalled that you didn’t mention how awesome it is to be able to see your favorite fatman.

  4. meg

    we’ll miss you! come back to us in Oregon soon! oh. and bring in-and-out

  5. Jen

    Eric: And I am shocked and appalled that you couldn’t read between the lines! 😛
    Megness: I can’t wait to see your new digs! And I can’t wait to show you mine…so glad hunting season is finally OVER.

  6. meg

    so….wait! seriously is the house hunting over? where’s the post, where’s the pictures, where’s the announcement?!?! in case you didn’t know it, i want details! when are you moving? where are you moving to? um….

Leave a Reply

