In a big country dreams stay with you

1. Z has a new smile where he crinkles his nose and squints his eyes at you in delight. It’s so precious it makes my heart burst.

 

2. A student called me Ma’am today and it irritated me to no end. Very polite, but it made me feel ancient. I’m 27 years old. Does that make me a ma’am? I feel like I was 21 two seconds ago. Now I’m married with child (not pregnant, but…you understand), and I’m three years from the big 3-0. What’s happening? But seriously, I feel so foolish saying that 27 is old, so very cliché of me. Maybe it’s because I’m surrounded by 18 year olds all day. Could be.

3. I recycled a plastic snack bag today. I feel so empowered! I can now take on the world. Next stop: bicycle riding. Ha! Riiiight. But I do feel like strutting.

4. My sister, brother-in-law and nephew are flying into Portland tomorrow night! Very happy. It feels like it’s been forever, but it’s been more like 6 months. Still too long to go without a visit. This is their home away from home, and not just because I’m here. They live in Santa Cruz, a city that (like Portland) is apparently so weird that people want to keep it that way.

5. Why is it that I have to say “no mayo” whenever I order a sandwich or burger? Mayonnaise is so fucking disgusting, I have never understood why so many people love it. I’d say the only food/condiment/spread that tops it in pure evil nastiness is Vegemite. I could only keep that filth in my mouth for a couple of seconds. My co-worker brought it in to the office and claimed that it was “delicious” so I slathered some on a cracker and popped it into my mouth, only to spew it forth into a nearby trash can. According to the dictionary it is a “a type of salty vegetable and yeast paste used as a spread”. Does reading that sentence make you think…Yum? Then Vegemite, my friend, is for you.

5 Comments

Filed under Life, Portland, shoes, Z the Mighty

5 responses to “In a big country dreams stay with you

  1. It’s super cute. It makes him look old though – gives him old man nose!

  2. Well, we’re in Sactown, waiting for our pm flight tomorrow night. And kicking ourselves for leaving our double-high airmattress. Lame. So lame. I’ll be borrowing one from the godfamily presently. And yes, it is our home away from home. Please make sure our jar of mayo is waiting for us when we arrive.

  3. kerriew

    Forcing me to comment with the attack on Vegemite. Really? Say what you will be my face, but to the whole Internet? Harsh. For the record I need to state that Vegemite is delicious. Although you’re right about Mayo.
    Hope you’re having a good weekend with your sister!

  4. Vegemite is the toe-jam of Satan.
    Mayo is perfectly fine in moderation.

  5. meg

    vegemite is good. the trouble was you didn’t eat it on hot toast, first smathered in butter then with a little tiny spread of vegemite on top. You have to work your way up to a smathering…people forget that fact.

    and now about little mister, is it just me or is he actually looking like a little man all of a sudden…he’s becoming a little boy and leaving baby boy land.

    visit. soon. a. must.

Leave a Reply

