Things.

I really want to see this film. I want to walk down the street and sing in French! Not to mention Louis Garrel is tres attirante…

This film is by the writer director of The Station Agent, so it’s on the list as well. Richard Jenkins’ characters in Intolerable Cruelty and Flirting with Disaster are some of the funniest I’ve seen. Most people know him as the deceased dad from Six Feet Under, and he was pretty great in that too.

I finally watched Dedication and Why Did I Get Married?. Neither were what I expected.

Dedication (directed by Justin Theroux) is about an obsessive compulsive (i.e. quirky) children’s book author, Henry (Billy Crudup) being forced to pair up with an illustrator, Lucy (Mandy Moore, wearing eyeliner) and his subsequent battle against falling for her. His former collaborator/illustrator recently passed away but Henry continues to seek his advice, as he has no other friends. Henry is an annoying prick for the most part, but since he’s played by Billy Crudup I kept thinking, ehhh he’s not so bad. Looooket that face. He gives Lucy a hard time of it in the beginning, but for some reason…ends up thinking she’s “princess shit”. No wait, that doesn’t sound right. Not the shit from a princess’ bowels, more like you know “uh huh this my shit.” Got it? Anyway, I didn’t understand what exactly it was about her that made Henry want to stop stacking books on his chest (he feels a lot of pressure), or start driving cars, or start turning things clockwise. And I think it all happens after a week of knowing her! Whatever. There are some cute scenes between the two, but the film could have packed a bit more punch.

Why Did I Get Married? was one of the cheesiest, corniest films I’ve ever seen. 4 successful couples vacation together every year. They use this time to chit-chat about how successful they all are and ponder why the hell they all got married, because it sure does confuse the hell out of them. *There’s a lot of arguing, mostly about who is more successful or makes more money. There’s also a lot of talk about sex, venereal diseases and the lord our God. In that order. At one point Janet Jackson’s character, a psychologist, gives the couples exercises to encourage discourse. One of her exercises: writing lists of the good and the bad. ??? Please! I thought a lot of the situations that these couples were put in weren’t very believable, but were used for purely dramatic effect. Nothing really rang true for me. It felt like everyone was trying a little too hard. I think everyone should be able to watch a movie and feel like they could point at a character and say “I know you!” or at least a variation of the character. But I have no idea who any of these people are. Why they would do they things they do. And who sits around and says, “I’m a successful pediatrician/lawyer/pilot/rocket scientist. And look at you! You’re a self made millionaire! Who knew we’d have so much money?” *rolls eyes*

And are people really kicked off a flight if they are overweight?

Why did I watch this movie?

*ETA

3 Comments

Filed under Movies, Opinion

3 responses to “Things.

  1. That second one was pretty weak, and predictable, and melodramatic.

  2. I will blog my response, cherie.

  3. Pingback: On Tyler Perry « Prune Candy

Leave a Reply

