It's a long way down the holiday road

Merry Christmas! Andy and I exchanged gifts this year. For me: earrings and the Freaks and Geeks box set. For him: Super Mario Galaxy, a Joe Strummer CD and a random book that I found on an old Amazon wish list. He has no idea how it got there. I totally wanted to surprise him with a gift he wasn’t expecting and I did, too bad he doesn’t really want to read it. 😛 But: I feel good about the birthday gift that I got him that didn’t arrive until a couple of days ago (I ordered it early November). It’s a Jamie Madrox shirt (Multiple Man). Is it cheesy to say that it mad rocks? YEEEAAAH.

I get so excited when I get gifts for people that I know they really will enjoy. There’s a shop in SLO called Therapy that I L-O-V-E. I bought a scarf there when we were in town for Thanksgiving and ended up calling them when we got home to Vancouver and ordering 5 more scarves. I shipped them to my sisters, my aunt and my mom for Christmas gifts. And kept another one for me. 🙂 Giving good gifts one year kind of makes up for years and years of not giving. It’s fun to give, especially when you want what you’re giving. That’s when you know it’s a good gift. My office did a whole secret santa thing and I managed to find my person the gift that I really knew that she would enjoy… I actually bought one thing and then said, “Nah, I can do better.” Andy got really annoyed and said, “I hope she knows and appreciates how stressed out you’re getting about this!” But it was so awesome when she opened her gift and said my first and last name: I knew I’d done good. It made me feel fuzzy, it truly did.

Speaking of which: funny story involving this co-worker who is also named Jen. She was heading off to run errands on campus and I was typing an email to Andy. She let me know where she was going, and said that she’d be back soon. I said okay, but wasn’t really listening to what she was saying. She said goodbye. I said, “I love you.” It didn’t even register until she was turning the door knob and froze to stare back at me that I said, “Wait, what did I say?” and she said, “Wait, what?” at the same time. My face got really hot…then I couldn’t stop laughing about it. Fuck, that was embarrassing!

Zain got tons of gifts from my in-laws: …so many lovely brown outfits…BROWN! You have no idea how excited I am about this. The sheer amount of baby blue clothes in stores for boys angers me. Where’s the brown? The orange? The grey? If we have another boy I will do what I can to find anything BUT blue to dress him in. So sick of that color.

Tangent: There are two vintage stores in Portland that are amazing. Bombshell Vintage and Lived-in Lover. They’re owned by the same woman, and have clothing there that J Crew overcharges for on a daily basis. Old school knee length plaid skirts? Check. Lovely cardigans? Check. Fifties cocktail dresses? Check. And they’ve got a great array of clothes for guys. It’s usually hard for me to shop at vintage clothing stores since everything is so pretentious and trendy nowadays. I remember back in high school how I could get an outfit for a dollar at my local thrift store. People would ask me where I shopped, kay? It was good times.

I’ll end this post with these photos (note the lovely silver sneakers!):

what’s out there?

No power in the ‘verse can stop him. Z the Mighty!

5 Comments

Filed under Family, Life, Pictures, Shopping

5 responses to “It's a long way down the holiday road

  1. Zain made out like a bandit! But he deserves it, not that he’ll know.

    My shirt is indeed cool :).

  2. Awesome, long Christmas post! Yeay! And it pretty much echoes the sentiment I posted in my wee Christmas hours blog: giving is awesome. Don’t you love how half the day is spent opening baby presents? There’s always one grandparent who spends a small fortune. Ezzie somehow managed not only to get the swag but get visit after visit beginning in November with you guys! Awesome holiday season for us!! French kisses! *Mmmm. I want French Kisses!* –> new commercial tagline

  3. Jen

    Yes, giving is indeed good. Everyone loves giving to babies even though they have no idea what they’re getting, but the bright wrapper distracts them, and well… that’s enough.
    Love you guys! I wish we could’ve seen you. Hopefully sometime in the upcoming years?

  4. We can’t wait to come back up there!

  5. meg

    yeah! i can’t wait to see him in his silver kicks! I had a great time buying the few gifts I did buy and I love giving them to people, just love it. glad to hear you guys had fun. hope to see you soon.

Leave a Reply

