Looking for a hole to sink into

I did something the other day that most people are deathly afraid of doing. I asked a woman who wasn’t pregnant when she was due.

In my defense, she had been pregnant a couple of weeks prior to me asking; it’s just she had already spit the kid out. Minor details, really (I kid). As she explained this to me, I probably died a thousand times. I’m glad I had something to focus on (carrying Z’s car seat to the car) or I probably would’ve nervously hiccuped/sputtered/stammered myself into a fit.

It was pretty painful.

In other news, Andy and I went and saw Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (ah…Rupert Grint) on Sunday. I really enjoyed it; it was quite a bit darker than the other HP films (and who does gloom and doom better than Helena Bonham Carter?). Harry’s moody, having nightmares, pushing away his friends. Kissing girls for longer than a minute. Tugs at the heartstrings, it does. I loved the inklings of a crush between Ron and Hermione, I’m going to admit right now that I look forward to the next installment for mostly that reason. Man, those kids are growing like weeds, especially the kid that plays Neville. They’re also getting richer. $14 mil to play Harry Potter? I suppose I can justify that more than Macaulay Culkin getting millions to slap his pasty hands on his cheeks and yell (poorly).

4 Comments

Filed under Life, Movies

4 responses to “Looking for a hole to sink into

  1. meg

    sad about the first thing with the prego lady…but what i’m really concerned about is how you WENT TO A MOVIE???

    Cause if you got a babysitter, and it wasn’t someone from your family, so help me I’m gunna stomp my feet and cry!!!

  2. Jen

    Andy’s aunt Beverly was up for the weekend 🙂

  3. I think I’ve got my dad scheduling their visit during the one other weekend we “need” a babysitter for the rest of the year. Go us and lucky scheduling.

    Of course, there are a lot of decent movies we want to see lately, so anytime you guys want to come up and babysit 🙂 :). Hehe.

    Seriously though, I mentioned rib and absinthe to Andy..completely unconnected to babysitters..we don’t need one currently and we still want to hang out with you guys…must be like we really like you or something.

  4. meg

    and we’re trying to figure out when we can come up next, must be like we really like you guys.
    Andy’s sister is coming up next week so we can’t next weekend and this weekend i think we’re going to stay in Eugene, cause we’ve been somewhere else every weekend since july began.
    let’s shoot for the weekend after that.

Leave a Reply

