Zach Braff, where have you been all my life?

Andy and I were at Best Buy today when I came across the soundtrack for Zach Braff’s latest movie The Last Kiss (also known as Yet another trite film about how hard it is to just settle down, already. Or: Why can’t I get just one kiss… from a hooker?) I flipped it over and noticed the pre-requesite Imogen Heap and other such mellow indie/alt/rock bits. Snow Patrol, Aimee Mann, Coldplay, Rachel Yamagata. Oh, and let’s not forget Fiona Apple. Her song “Paper Bag” was chosen because Rachel Bilson can’t act her way out of one. So I flip it back over to see a blue sticker in the upper left hand corner stating: Songs hand-picked by Zach Braff himself! Did I immediately clasp the CD to my heart and proclaim it golden?

Nah. See, ZB (which is an AWESOME nickname, right?) is getting altogether too much credit for making what we’ve all been making for ETERNITY. It’s called mixed tapes, ya’ll. I’ve made tons for friends and family and for myself…I’m just that good. I’m gonna ship them off to Hollywood tout de suite with a note on each saying: Use this “soundtrack” for any coming of age drama. One CD fits all. Braff’s already won a grammy (!) for his first mixed tape, which did clue some of people into Frou Frou and The Shins. I said some, though. Thanks for that Braff. But let’s not get too over excited shall we? For example: I once read a review of Imogen Heap’s album Speak for Yourself where Frou Frou was credited as Zach Braff’s Frou Frou. *blinks* Huh?

3 Comments

Filed under Music

3 responses to “Zach Braff, where have you been all my life?

  1. andy [Member]

    I heard he invented sliced bread, or was at least the first one to point out to everyone else that what they had already been enjoying for years was indeed, sliced bread.

  2. Bethany [Visitor]

    Ohmigod, Andy, my sides are hurting right now. WHEN DID ZB HIP ANYONE TO FROU FROU?!? Hein?!? What to the ever! Now that soundtrack lineup does sound amazing and I do think he’s effing hilarious but I must tell you that holding my eyes open with barbed wire and on pain of death could not compel me to watch yet another of those movies. Please. Can’t we just watch Eternal Sunshine again?!?

  3. Jen [Visitor]

    Why is the word Hein so funny? Seriously.
    And yes, Eternal Sunshine is eternally sweet sweet goodness. Which is why it’s sitting on my DVD rack not next to Garden State…which, again, wasn’t a bad film. It was just BUCK.

Leave a Reply

