P & P

I saw the new Pride and Prejudice today. It was definitely interesting to see a new take on it, being completely obsessed with the Colin Firth BBC version. I can honestly say that I enjoyed it, along with pretty much all of the females in the theatre…there was a lot of laughter and cooing. :)I overheard a lot of people saying that it felt rushed, but you can only cram so much into a 2 hour movie. I personally find Jane Austen’s style of writing a bit superfluous, so in my eyes you can edit away! I do think that I prefer the miniseries (Colin…wherefore art thou?), but there were elements of this version that I found very appealing. For instance, Mr. Darcy is much more poetic about his affections. Sometimes less is more, sometimes not.
This time, it was yummy.

I don’t think that Keira Knightley would’ve been my first choice to play Elizabeth Bennett, though. She’s insanely overrated and reminds me a bit of an overgrown 13 year old, but she did okay. The attraction between her and Matthew McFayden (who was lovely) was very believable. Quite palpable. Didn’t quite get the casting of Jena Malone either, who played boy-crazy younger sister Lydia. I’ve never understood her appeal. Her teeth are yellow. Yellow. Just…nasty.

I overheard some guy talking after the movie about how the BBC version was soo much better and that he was disappointed and I almost laughed. It was just too surreal to hear this guy go on and on about how “amazing” the original was. And I thought guys hated chick flicks. I dread calling it a “chick flick”, you know, but if it quacks like a duck…

A preview for Something New came on before the movie started. I am so excited about this movie. Sanaa Lathan + Simon Baker = me in the theatre on opening night biting my fists in anticipation. Hopefully it portrays an interracial relationship without perpetuating too many stereotypes…but the preview left me with a good feeling. And I love Sanaa. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies

Leave a Reply

