And I know how to use them

Fossil cardigan and heels, Buffalo Exchange dress, c/o Sock Dreams tights, The Bridge gladstone bag

For a long time I thought that fishnets weren’t something that I could pull off. They attracted attention, and I liked to blend in. As I got older, I started to experiment with different looks and after I found a pair at Urban Outfitters for super cheap I bit the bullet and wore them to work one day. A little background: I worked for a home building business where sexual discrimination ran rampant. My male coworkers frequently took the company jet to Vegas while the women were expected to stay behind and hold down the fort. It was the worst job I ever had.

My boss walked up to me and let his eyes drift up and down my legs.

“Are those fishnets?” he asked.

“Um, yes.” I replied. “Is that a problem?”

His eyes met mine. “Fishnets are never a problem,” he said throatily.

I shuddered. Ew.

So it was back to opaque tights, usually of the black variety. A kitschy pair of Santa Claus socks that I received for Christmas one year opened the door to my obsession with patterned socks and knee high socks and thigh high socks and colored tights and naturally, shopping at Sock Dreams a lot. When they recently contacted me about modeling some of their tights I literally jumped for joy!

They were fishnets.

The fishnets in question are Philippe Matignon Retina Fishnet Tights, which are incredibly lovely tights of wonderful quality. When I started the initial pull I was worried that they wouldn’t fit – my thighs are pretty substantial – but I was pleasantly surprised. They stretched quite nicely, and over the course of the day I almost forgot that I was wearing them (almost, they are fishnets after all)!  I’m used to cinching up the band around my waist but these are crazy comfortable, no rolling or otherwise. I’m hard on my tights too, so durability is a plus. As soon as I pulled them on, one of my bangles snagged one of the strings but it snapped easily back into place with a little flick of my finger. I paired these fishnets with a more demure look, so that the texture added an edge to the outfit while still leaving me feeling modest.

I love them.

Thanks for the push, Sock Dreams! I wore fishnets to work today for the first time in years. I figure I’m safe, since I work with a priest.

 

5 Comments

Filed under Stylefile

5 responses to “And I know how to use them

  1. Those shoes won’t stop breaking my heart. >.>

  2. I am so jealous. I am happy that Sock Dreams sent you a pair to review though because I miss that feature from them. I think I’ve been to this blog before. Nice outfit btw. Peace.

  3. Nessa

    It’s an interesting story about sexual discrimination at your workplace.

Leave a Reply

